WESTconsin Credit Union Celebrates Cooperatives and Credit Unions in October


WESTERN, WI— Since 1948, National Cooperative Month and International Credit Union Day®, have been celebrated in October to raise awareness of a trusted, proven way to do business and build communities. This year’s ICU Day® will take place on October 21 and will observe the theme "building financial health for a brighter tomorrow.” WESTconsin has many activities planned to celebrate these occasions and benefit local communities.

Beginning October 1 through the end of the month, World’s Finest Chocolate® bars will be available for purchase in all WESTconsin offices for $1 each. Proceeds will help local kids when they need it the most through the efforts of the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.

For community members who have document shredding on their fall cleaning lists, WESTconsin Credit Union is offering free, community shred events throughout the area. Those interested in securely disposing of sensitive documents are welcome to attend while following necessary COVID precautions:

  • Thursday, October 21
    • 12-1 p.m. | Menomonie-North Office, 2414 Hils Court, Menomonie
    • 2-3 p.m. | Eau Claire Office, 1111 W Clairemont Avenue, Eau Claire
  • Tuesday, October 26
    • 12-1 p.m. | River Falls Office, 1207 North Main Street, River Falls
    • 2-3 p.m. | Baldwin Office, 860 Cedar Street, Baldwin

During the month of October, members are invited to enter for a chance to win a $40 Visa Gift Card at any of WESTconsin’s 15 convenient locations. While in office, pick up your 2022 pocket calendar, a new drink coaster, stickers, and more! Items available while supplies last. WESTconsin is excited to celebrate Cooperative Month and International Credit Union Day® with their members, while Inspiring Better™ from their members, employees, and communities they serve.

WESTconsin Credit Union has been serving members since 1939, and membership is open to anyone who lives or works in the Wisconsin counties of Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Taylor, Trempealeau, and Washburn, or the Minnesota counties of Anoka, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Isanti, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington, with a $5 minimum deposit in a Membership Savings Account. Credit unions are financial institutions owned by their accountholders, and member funds are federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) up to at least $250,000.

Send this blog post to someone: