WESTconsin Credit Union Donates to the University of Wisconsin-River Falls


RIVER FALLS, WI— WESTconsin Credit Union is pleased to announce the donation of $25,000 to the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. The donation will benefit their new Science and Technology Innovation Center (SciTech). SciTech will be prominently located and easily accessible on the UW-River Falls campus, where students from a wide range of majors will engage in immersive high-impact learning experiences in biology, chemistry, physics, and psychological sciences. In addition to providing UW-River Falls students and faculty with a transformational teaching and learning environment, SciTech is being built with business and industry leaders and entrepreneurs in mind. According to the university website, “it will provide entrepreneurs and businesses access to spaces for making, discovering, and cooperating in STEM fields and beyond, bringing together industry and university resources to support new business expansion and economic growth in the rapidly growing St. Croix Valley region.”

WESTconsin and UW-River Falls have had an excellent partnership for several decades. Their new facility, the Science and Technology Innovation Center is something we know will benefit not just River Falls but the surrounding communities, as well,” says Brian Manion, Vice President of the River Falls WESTconsin office. He continues, “this exciting build will bring great possibilities, opportunities, and business connections as we all look towards the future.”

SciTech construction will start in September 2023 and continue through summer of 2025. Technology, furniture, and lab equipment will be installed in fall 2025. Target date for project completion, grand opening and inaugural classes is January 2026. If you’d like to support the project, visit uwrf.edu/SciTech/GroupandOrganizationalSupport.cfm.

WESTconsin Credit Union has been serving members since 1939, and membership is open to anyone who lives or works in the Wisconsin counties of Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Taylor, Trempealeau, and Washburn, or the Minnesota counties of Anoka, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Isanti, Pine, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington, with a $5 minimum deposit in a Membership Savings Account. Credit unions are financial institutions owned by their accountholders, and member funds are federally insured by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) up to at least $250,000.

Send this blog post to someone: